πŸš€ NASA Space Apps Hackathon: My First Hackathon with my Friends

Created: October 24, 2023 6:45 PM

πŸ’« How it all started

As far as I remember, I just saw about it on the hack2skill website. It is a company that seems pretty big in the hackathon and tech community in India. They even conducted my interview for GDSC Lead, but that’s a story for another day! β€œhack2skill.comβ€œ

Yeah so I just saw the notice for the hackathon there. It’s an international hackathon by NASA with regionals happening in Noida. It looked super cool! At the time I was tinkering with some Godot game dev and wanted to make a space sim for education. So I contacted my friends Rupam Barui (Rupa), Shiv Avasthi, and Digvijay (Diggy) to see if they wanted to join.

πŸ˜… Procrastination Hits Hard

We didn’t do anything until the very last minute before the Round 1 submission deadline! Like literally the last 30 mins lol. We quickly jumped on a Gmeet call, with me calling in Diggy and Rupam (who lives in the same flat but meeting online is important too!). We somehow managed to throw together some slides and submitted just 5 mins before the deadline.

Here’s our website: https://softonauts.vercel.app/

NASA Space Apps Challenge

πŸŽ‰ We Did It!

After an anxious couple hour of waiting, we got the email that we made it to the top 20 teams! I was so hyped, didn’t expect we’d get selected given how last minute we were. My friend Diggy WhatsApped me the results and I was over the moon that we were top 20!

The hackathon itself was scheduled from 10am Oct 7 to 8am Oct 8, 2023.

😴 No Sleep + Caffeine = Round 2 Success

Long story short, Shiv and I actually didn’t sleep at all and powered through on caffeine lol. We managed to clear Round 2 and make the top 8 teams! Definitely need to work on our pitch though Shiv!

Anyway, that’s enough for this post. I’ve got a ton of exams coming up now that need my focus. Already looking forward to the next hackathon!

πŸ’Ύ Here’s what all media I found:

Finally, its over !

Some Swags πŸ˜‹

Some Swags πŸ˜‹

Me, Rupam and Digvijay

Can you tell about NasaπŸ˜‚

Cya~